A Bit Behind Schedule

Life seems intent on limiting the time I can spend on my GSoC project. The first wave of family arrived at my house today, and more still will be coming. I have a lot to do to help my family host. Last week we set the goal that I should have NumPy working on PyPy by the end of last week. (which we’ll call Tuesday since that’s when we set those goals forward) In addition I was intended to have started fixing up micronumpy.

While I haven’t started on micronumpy, I have made significant strides in getting NumPy to work on PyPy. Unfortunately, CPyExt isn’t as mature as we’d hoped, and rather than working on NumPy, I’m spending my time implementing C API functions in PyPy. NumPy still doesn’t import, but I can see from the output of nm -u the number of missing symbols is being slowly whittled down. I should also note that NumPy’s setup.py has caused me significant grief since its ‘clean’ target doesn’t clean up after setup.py build_ext -i at the moment I haven’t identified whether that’s a bug in NumPy’s copy of distutils (gross in and of itself) or if it’s a nasty interaction between it and CPyExt’s presetup.py which creates a stub dll/so for testing purposes.

Now on to the positive side of things, since I began writing this post (about a week ago) I’ve satisfied the last of NumPy’s Symbol dependencies it seems, now there are still issues with importing the module, for instance some API functions get passed non-Python objects (probably being double freed) but I’m not sure how best to track this all down. I’m not sure whether I just haven’t found the source, or if it has to do with output redirection and buffering, but no matter where i’ve put printfs (in c) and prints (in python) they always end up after the exception is thrown in the output…

EDIT: It’s almost certainly turned out to be a buffering/stderr vs. stdout issue, how I’m going to get Python buffering to play nice with C is a mystery to me though… Perhaps if I turn off buffering…

So, sorry for the absence, things are still moving along, though I definitely have a bit of catching up to do.

Cheers,
Dan
A Bit Behind Schedule

Leave a Reply

