Performance Update

As promised, I haven’t just dropped micronumpy, I’m continuing to work on it. As of September 10th, 2010 micronumpy takes 1.28736s per iteration over the convolve benchmark, and NumPy on CPython takes 1.87520s per iteration. This is about a 31.3% speedup over NumPy, I didn’t record the exact numbers near the end of the SoC but I believe I’ve made things slower still… On the bright side, I’m passing more tests than ever, and support slicing correctly. On the downside, I have no idea why it’s slower, I eliminated a whole loop from the calculation, I expected at least a moderate gain in performance… I’m investigating now, so I’m keeping this short.

Cheers,
Dan
Performance Update

Leave a Reply

